Women of the suffrage movement to grace back of new $10 bill

By popular demand, it was announced this week that Alexander Hamilton will stay on the front of the $10 bill in the United States. The back of the currency will have a makeover, according to the Treasury Department, and honor five leaders in the suffrage movement who were instrumental to the passage of the 19th Amendment: Lucretia Mott, Sojourner Truth, Susan B. Anthony, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Alice Paul.

The scene of the back of the new $10 will be set in March 1913, when a march for women’s suffrage took place from the U.S. Capitol to the steps of the Treasury Department in Washington, D.C.

Read more about the women at the Treasury Department.


Amid uproar, Treasury will keep Hamilton on the $10 and replace Jackson on the $20

Currency campaign calls for women on both $10 and $20 bills

U.S. officials surprised by Americans’ intense interest in $10 bill redesign

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *